Nominations Open for Lexington Black Prosperity Initiative 2022 Grassroots Black Leadership Awards

January 25, 2022

The Lexington Black Prosperity Initiative, a community-advised committee of Blue Grass Community Foundation, is accepting nominations for the 2022 Grassroots Black Leadership Award honorees. With this award, the Lexington Black Prosperity Initiative seeks to celebrate and invest in three Black grassroots leaders who are on the frontlines leading vital work to affect positive change in Lexington. This award provides an unrestricted stipend of $5,000 in recognition of their efforts.

We invite nominations for those individuals who invest their time, creativity, expertise and, on many occasions, their personal finances, to create stronger Black communities in our city. Nominees must live in and/or lead programs that benefit Black communities in Lexington. Their work should address social justice, racial equity gaps and/or contribute to prosperity in the Lexington Black community. Self-nominations are acceptable.

Visit to access the Grassroots Black Leadership Award Form. Nominations must be submitted by midnight on February 25.

Past Grassroots Black Leadership Award Honorees

Previous recipients of the Grassroots Black Leadership Awards, listed below, are not eligible. Read more about them and their amazing work in our community.

Devine Carama  

Khari Gardner 

Tonya Lindsey

Sharon Murphy 

Elisha Mutayongwa  

Stephen T. Overstreet  

Ashley C. Smith and Trevor Claiborn Sr. 

Tanya Torp  

Rev. L. Clark Williams