Grassroots Black Leadership Awards

Nominations Open for Lexington Black Prosperity Initiative’s
2022 Grassroots Black Leadership Awards

The Lexington Black Prosperity Initiative, a community-advised committee of Blue Grass Community Foundation, is accepting nominations for the 2022 Grassroots Black Leadership Award honorees. With this award, the Lexington Black Prosperity Initiative seeks to celebrate and invest in three Black grassroots leaders who are on the frontlines leading vital work to affect positive change in Lexington. This award provides an unrestricted stipend of $5,000 in recognition of their efforts.

We invite nominations for those individuals who invest their time, creativity, expertise and, on many occasions, their personal finances, to create stronger Black communities in our city. Nominees must live in and/or lead programs that benefit Black communities in Lexington. Their work should address social justice, racial equity gaps and/or contribute to prosperity in the Lexington Black community. Self-nominations are acceptable.

To nominate a grassroots leader, click the button below to complete and submit the Grassroots Black Leadership Award Nomination Form.

The deadline to submit a nomination is February 25, 2022.

Past Grassroots Black Leadership Award recipients are not eligible.