Grassroots Black Leadership Awards

The Lexington Black Prosperity Initiative Announces 2023 Grassroots Black Leadership Awards Honorees

The Lexington Black Prosperity Initiative, a community-advised committee of Blue Grass Community Foundation, is once again celebrating Black community members who are leading positive change with its 2023 class of Grassroots Black Leadership Awards honorees. 

This award was initiated in 2021 to celebrate and invest in individuals on the frontlines leading the vital work of addressing racial equity, disparities in the Black community, and social justice across Lexington. Award winners receive an unrestricted stipend of $5,000 in recognition of their efforts at the grassroots level to affect change in our community. 

“The Lexington Black Prosperity Initiative is honored to recognize these grassroots leaders who are addressing racial equity, disparities in the Black community and social justice across Lexington,” said Dr. Tiffany Daniels, D.C., LPBI advisory board co-chair. 

The 2023 Grassroots Black Leadership Awards go to the following recipients:

Past Grassroots Black Leadership Award Honorees

2022 Winners

Marcellus Barksdale

Martina Barksdale

Geo Gibson

Jaria Gordon

David Laurenvil

2021 Winners

Devine Carama

Trevor Claiborn, Sr.

Khari Gardner

Tonya Lindsey

Sharon Murphy

Elisha Mutayongwa

Stephen T. Overstreet

Ashley C. Smith

Tanya Torp

Rev. L. Clark Williams